Français

General Information

Profile

Established in January, 2004, the Atlantic Metropolis Centre is a catalyst for inter-jurisdictional and inter-sectoral cooperation in Atlantic Canada. Building on the strength of the region's universities, the Centre's five regionally distributed research clusters or “domains” bring together researchers, community organizations, immigrant service providers and federal, provincial and municipal policy makers.

Collectively, the domains are investigating “pull” and “push” factors that influence population migrations to and from the region, including cultural and family networks; economic opportunities; educational and linguistic barriers; access to culturally sensitive health and legal services; security, safe community, and human rights issues; gender and immigrant women; political structures; international refugee flows; and the increasingly complex nature of citizenship and national identity in a period of accelerating globalization.

Through its affiliations with four other national Metropolis Centres (established in 1996), the Atlantic Metropolis Centre brings the perspectives and concerns of the Atlantic region into play in addressing the national policy priorities of the Metropolis Project. Facilitated by these networks and the transnational linkages arising out of the international arm of the Metropolis Project, Centre research teams contribute to new knowledge concerning population migrations, investigate models for influencing migration of particular relevance to Atlantic Canada, and contribute to effective policy development and practices in the region.

Attraction And Retention Of Immigrants

The overarching research priorities of the AMC are focused on the at­traction of new immigrants to Atlantic Canada, and the retention of immigrants within welcoming communities. Given the distribution of population as well as patterns of outmigration, attraction and retention are key policy issues for government policy workers, the private sector, and community organizations in the region. The small sizes of Atlantic Canadian immigrant communities open up opportunities for research on cultural and social integration policies. They also underscore the need for development of better infrastructure to serve immigrant and minority populations. The AMC places emphasis on immigrant integra­tion, population migration and multicultural diversity within towns and rural areas, as well as research focusing on the region's urban centres.

Both Official Languages

The Atlantic Metropolis Centre pursues the research agendas of the national Metropolis Project in both official languages. While research­ers are free to choose their language of publication and presentation, official documents from the Centre are produced in both French and English. All activities organized by the Centre allow for both official languages of Canada to be employed. The management of the Centre from two administrative sites, one in Halifax and the other in Moncton, reflects this linguistic diversity as well as the geographic distribution of research domains across three universities: Saint Mary's University (Halifax), Dalhousie University (Halifax), and l'Université de Moncton (Moncton).

A Rich And Diverse Cultural Heritage

The Atlantic Metropolis Centre draws upon the region's long and rich history of population migration and cultural diversity in pursuing its research agendas. Following First Nations peoples, several groups such as Acadians, African Canadians, and people of Scottish, Irish and English origin settled in the region. There is much to be learned from the historical and contemporary experience of these communities in investigating issues of immigration, social and economic integration, cultural heritage and population migration.

From Regional To Transnational

Facing the challenges of building networks across the boundaries of four provinces, many municipalities, and seventeen universities and colleges, the Atlantic Metropolis Centre acts as a catalyst for greater integration within the region. Drawing on national and international networks within participating universities, it connects regional research on immigration and cultural diversity to national and transnational per­spectives.

Background Information

The Metropolis Project: An Overview

Media and publications

  • Minister Coderre visits Metropolis Partners in Newfoundland (jpeg image)
  • Atlantic Report Volume 36, number 2 - Summer 2001 (pdf document)
  • Comings and Goings in Atlantic Canada - Ather Akbari - April 2005 (pdf document)

Reference Material

  • Letter from Meyer Burstein to University Presidents in Atlantic Canada (November 2001) (MS Word)
  • Letter from Meyer Burstein to University Presidents in Atlantic Canada (May 2001) (MS Word)
  • Letter of support from the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (MS Word)
  • Evaluation of the Metropolis Joint Initiative Program of Citizenship and Immigration Canada and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

English

Informations générales

Profil et caractéristiques

Créé en janvier 2004, le Centre Métropolis Atlantique est un catalyseur pour la recherche interprovinciale et la collaboration intersectorielle dans la région. Mettant à profit l'expertise des universités de la région, les cinq domaines de recherche du Centre sont répartis de manière à mettre en commun les efforts des chercheurs, des organismes communautaires, des associations d'immigrants et des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et municipaux.

Les chercheures et chercheurs des domaines de recherche étudient les facteurs qui influencent l'immigration et l'émigration, y compris les réseaux familiaux et culturels, l'économie, la diversité linguistique, l'éducation, l'accès aux services légaux et en matière de santé, la sécurité et les droits de la personne, les femmes immigrées et les rapports hommes/femmes, les structures politiques, les modèles de migrations internationales et l'évolution des notions de citoyenneté et d'identité nationale dans le contexte d'une globalisation croissante.

En travaillant avec les autres centres Métropolis du pays, le Centre Métropolis Atlantique fait valoir les préoccupations régionales dans le cadre des priorités nationales du Projet Métropolis. Grâce à ce réseau et à celui de Métropolis International, les équipes du Centre Métropolis Atlantique contribuent à l'avancement des connaissances sur les migrations des populations, développent des modèles d'analyse adaptés aux réalités de la région et contribuent ainsi au développement de politiques et de pratiques efficaces en Atlantique.

Attraction et rétention des immigrants

Comment attirer et retenir les immigrants dans la région Atlantique est une des priorités de recherche du CMA. Compte tenu de la répartition démographique de la région et du déplacement de la population à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des provinces Atlantiques, les deux pôles de cette problématique représentent autant d'éléments essentiels à la réflexion et au travail des intervenants gouvernementaux, des organismes communautaires, ainsi que du secteur privé en Atlantique. La taille relativement restreinte des communautés culturelles immigrantes de la région présente par ailleurs des opportunités de recherche intéressantes pour ceux qui s'intéressent aux politiques d'intégration sociales et culturelles. Ces recherches sont importantes car elles permettent de souligner la nécessité de développer des infrastructures mieux adaptées aux besoins des nouveaux arrivants et des minorités culturelles. Le CMA s'intéresse autant à la recherche sur les questions relatives à l'intégration, l'immigration et à la diversité culturelle dans les grands centres urbains que dans les régions rurales et les villes de plus petite taille.

Langues officielles

Les recherches du CMA sont menées dans les deux langues officielles du Canada. La documentation officielle du Centre est diffusée en français et en anglais, et les réunions, les ateliers et les conférences sont organisés de manière à permettre l'utilisation des deux langues officielles. Les chercheurs associés au Centre peuvent mener et présenter leurs travaux dans la langue officielle de leur choix; cependant, la direction du Centre qui est répartie en deux noyaux administratifs, dont l'un est à Moncton et l'autre à Halifax, reflète non seulement cette diversité linguistique, mais aussi la répartition géographique des domaines dans trois universités responsables du projet, soit l'Université de Moncton (Moncton), Saint Mary's University (Halifax), et Dalhousie University (Halifax).

Patrimoine et diversité culturelle

Le Centre Métropolis Atlantique reconnait l'importance du patrimoine culturel de la région Atlantique qui témoigne d'une longue histoire d'immigration et de diversité culturelle. Après les nations autochtones, plusieurs groupes tels que les Acadiens, les Canadiens Africains, les Écossais, les Irlandais et les Anglais se sont progressivement installés dans la région. Leurs présences, leurs histoires et leurs patrimoines culturels sont autant d'éléments susceptibles de favoriser la recherche en matière d'immigration et de diversité culturelle en Atlantique.

Régionalisme et transnationalisme

Au-delà des réalités propres à chaque province et de la spécificité des milieux ruraux et urbains, sans oublier la répartition des chercheurs dans un bassin de dix-sept universités, le CMA se présente comme un lieu d'échange pouvant favoriser la cohésion et la collaboration entre les divers intervenants en Atlantique. S'appuyant sur les réseaux nationaux et internationaux des universités collaboratrices, le CMA permet de lier la recherche locale sur l'immigration et la diversité culturelle à des perspectives nationales et transnationales.

Antécédents

Projet Métropolis : Un aperçu

Média et publications

  • Le Ministre Coderre rend visite aux partenaires Métropolis à Terre-Neuve (image jpeg)
  • Atlantic Report Volume 36, number 2 - Summer 2001 (pdf)

Documents de référence

  • Lettre de Meyer Burstein aux recteurs des universités de la région du Canada Atlantique (novembre 2001) (MS Word)
  • Lettre de Meyer Burstein aux recteurs des universités de la région du Canada Atlantique (mai 2001) (MS Word)
  • Lettre d'appui de la fédération des municipalités canadiennes (en anglais)
  • Évaluation du projet Métropolis Initiative conjointe de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada